To Serve Them All My Days

  • Premiered: Oct 1980
  • Episodes: 13
  • Followers: 3
  • Ended
  • BBC One
  • Unknown
  • Drama Mini-series


You need to be logged in to mark episodes as watched. Log in or sign up.

Season 1
Part One
Episode overview
Air date
Oct 17, 1980
Although he once had dreams of a life in academia, injured soldier David Powlett-Jones arrives at Bamfylde a broken man haunted by the horrors of the front. Long, solitary walks and .. show full overview
Part Two
Episode overview
Air date
Oct 24, 1980
On a holiday in Wales, David meets Beth, a vivacious young nurse from Swansea who literally sets her cap at him. After months of corresponding, David invites Beth to visit Bamfylde for the Founders' Day festivities.
Part Three
Episode overview
Air date
Oct 31, 1980
David faces his wedding day with Howarth's gruff encouragement. Beth settles happily into life at Bamfylde, but David becomes agitated over a confrontation with Carter and a wealthy board member.
Part Four
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 07, 1980
The twins arrive, and David gets an opportunity to shine as a substitute housemaster. Beautiful Julia Darbyshire takes a teaching post at Bamfylde, but she finds the atmosphere stifling and the isolation unbearable.
Part Five
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 14, 1980
David takes over Havelock House for good and makes a curious choice for house captain. Everything goes well until Winterbourne, a Havelock boy, goes missing.
Part Six
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 21, 1980
Stumbling about the moors, David finds a reason to return to Bamfylde and carry on. Five years later, sustained by his teaching and friendships with Herries and Howarth, he resumes his writing.
Part Seven
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 28, 1980
When Herries announces his retirement, Carter and David square off in the competition for the new headmaster's position. Julia's gentle persuasion helps David overcome his reticence to .. show full overview
Part Eight
Episode overview
Air date
Dec 05, 1980
As Alcock takes charge and Herries bows out, the contrast between the two men is stark. The new headmaster proves to be interested in economy and sanitation above all else.
Part Nine
Episode overview
Air date
Dec 12, 1980
Outraged by Alcock's campaign to interrogate boys he suspects of ""unhealthy friendships"", David lashes out and Carter moves on. David becomes fascinated with Christine, a feisty upper-class socialist and politician who despises Bamfylde.
Part Ten
Episode overview
Air date
Dec 19, 1980
Alcock arranges a formal board hearing to air his grievances against David. Despite the risk, David continues to take time away to support Christine's political career. At the hearing, Alcock issues an ultimatum.
Part Eleven
Episode overview
Air date
Jan 02, 1981
The masters bid farewell to Alcock in their own unique ways. David becomes the heir apparent to the headmastership, but Herries cautions David that the job won't be handed to him.
Part Twelve
Episode overview
Air date
Jan 09, 1981
Preliminaries to World War II have started. To David's delight and amazement, Christine shows up at Bamfylde to enroll a new student. A trip home to Wales for a family death stirs .. show full overview
1x13 Show finale
Part Thirteen
Episode overview
Air date
Jan 16, 1981
David revels in his new life as headmaster and husband, but Christine struggles to find her place at Bamfylde. Howarth makes a telling final requst, and a letter reveals the immiment loss of another dear friend.

If there are missing episodes or banners (and they exist on TheTVDB) you can request an automatic full show update:

Request show update

If you like this show, you may also enjoy: