The Barchester Chronicles

  • Premiered: Nov 1982
  • Episodes: 7
  • Followers: 4
  • Ended
  • BBC Two
  • Wednesday
  • Drama History Mini-series


You need to be logged in to mark episodes as watched. Log in or sign up.

Season 1
Episode 1
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 10, 1982
Septimus Harding, the unassuming warden of Hiram's Hospital, becomes the target of John Bold's crusade to rid the church of corruption and nepotism.
Episode 2
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 17, 1982
Having plied his troth to Eleanor Harding, John Bold withdraws the case against his future father-in-law, but it is too late
Episode 3
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 24, 1982
A turn of fate initiates a series of power struggles that shake Barchester from its cosy contemplacency
Episode 4
Episode overview
Air date
Dec 01, 1982
Mr. Slope's offer to restore Septimus as warden of Hiram's Hospital is calculated to guarantee refusal.
Episode 5
Episode overview
Air date
Dec 08, 1982
Eleanor's simple Christian tolerance towards Mr. Slope engenders wild speculation in many circles.
Episode 6
Episode overview
Air date
Dec 15, 1982
Miss Thorne's annual fete becomes the sparring ground for ecclesiastical and romantic ambitions alike.
1x7 Show finale
Episode 7
Episode overview
Air date
Dec 22, 1982
Mr. Slope is encouraged by the press to reach beyond his grasp, and Signora Neroni undertakes an astonishingly selfless gesture.

If there are missing episodes or banners (and they exist on TheTVDB) you can request an automatic full show update:

Request show update


If you like this show, you may also enjoy: