• Premiered: Sep 1980
  • Episodes: 13
  • Followers: 196
  • Ended
  • PBS
  • Sunday at 20
  • Documentary


You need to be logged in to mark episodes as watched. Log in or sign up.

Season 1
The Shores of the Cosmic Ocean
Episode overview
Air date
Sep 28, 1980
At the beginning of this cosmic journey across space and time, Dr. Carl Sagan takes us to the edge of the universe aboard a spaceship of the imagination. Through beautiful special .. show full overview
One Voice in the Cosmic Fugue
Episode overview
Air date
Oct 05, 1980
Dr. Sagan's cosmic calendar makes the history of the universe understandable and frames the origin of the Earth and the evolution of life. We see the evolutionary process unfold, from .. show full overview
Harmony of the Worlds
Episode overview
Air date
Oct 12, 1980
This episode is a historical re-creation of the life of Johannes Kepler, the last scientific astrologer, the first modern astronomer and the author of the first science fiction .. show full overview
Heaven and Hell
Episode overview
Air date
Oct 19, 1980
A descent through the hellish atmosphere of Venus to explore its broiling surface serves as a warning to our world about the possible consequences of the increasing greenhouse .. show full overview
Blues for a Red Planet
Episode overview
Air date
Oct 26, 1980
Is there life on Mars? Dr. Sagan takes viewers on a tour of the red planet first through the eyes of science fiction authors, and then through the unblinking eyes of two Viking .. show full overview
Travellers' Tales
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 02, 1980
Dr. Sagan compares the exhilaration of 17th-century Dutch explorers who ventured in sailing ships halfway around our planet in their quest for wealth and knowledge to an inside view of .. show full overview
The Backbone of Night
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 09, 1980
Humans once thought the stars were campfires in the sky and the Milky Way "the backbone of night." In this fascinating segment Dr. Sagan takes us back to ancient Greece, when the basic .. show full overview
Journeys in Space and Time
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 16, 1980
A voyage to see how star patterns change over millions of years is followed by a journey to the planets of other stars, and a look at the possibility of time travel. This takes us to .. show full overview
The Lives of the Stars
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 23, 1980
Using computer animation and amazing astronomical art, Dr. Sagan shows how stars are born, live, die and sometimes collapse to form neutron stars or black holes. We then journey into .. show full overview
The Edge of Forever
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 30, 1980
Dr. Sagan leads us on some awesome trips — to a time when galaxies were beginning to form, to India to explore the infinite cycles of Hindu cosmology, and to show how humans of this .. show full overview
The Persistence of Memory
Episode overview
Air date
Dec 07, 1980
The brain is the focus of this fascinating portion of our journey as Dr. Sagan examines another of the intelligent creatures with whom we share the planet Earth — whales. Then we wind .. show full overview
Encyclopaedia Galactica
Episode overview
Air date
Dec 14, 1980
Are there alien intelligences? How could we communicate with them? What about UFOs? The answers to these questions take us to Egypt to decode ancient hieroglyphics, to the largest radio .. show full overview
1x13 Show finale
Who Speaks for Earth?
Episode overview
Air date
Dec 21, 1980
Through the use of special effects we retrace the 15-billion-year journey from the big bang to the present. We also hear the tragic story of the martyrdom of Hypatia, the woman scientist .. show full overview

If there are missing episodes or banners (and they exist on TheTVDB) you can request an automatic full show update:

Request show update


If you like this show, you may also enjoy: