• Premiered: Apr 2021
  • Episodes: 3
  • Followers: 19
  • Ended
  • PBS
  • Monday at 19
  • Documentary


You need to be logged in to mark episodes as watched. Log in or sign up.

Season 1
Episode 1: A Writer (1899-1929)
Episode overview
Air date
Apr 05, 2021
Hemingway, yearning for adventure, volunteers for the Red Cross during World War I. He marries Hadley Richardson and moves to Paris, publishes The Sun Also Rises and finds critical and commercial success with his second novel, A Farewell to Arms
Episode 2: The Avatar (1929-1944)
Episode overview
Air date
Apr 06, 2021
Hemingway, having achieved a level of fame rarely seen in the literary world, settles in Key West with Pauline Pfeiffer but can’t stay put for long. He reports on the Spanish Civil War and begins a tempestuous romance with Martha Gellhorn.
1x3 Show finale
Episode 3: The Blank Page (1944-1961)
Episode overview
Air date
Apr 07, 2021
Hemingway follows the Army as they advance through Europe. Afterwards, he tries to start a life with Mary Welsh, but is beset with tragedies. He publishes The Old Man and the Sea to acclaim but is overcome by his declining mental condition.

If there are missing episodes or banners (and they exist on TheTVDB) you can request an automatic full show update:

Request show update


If you like this show, you may also enjoy: