• Premiered: Sep 1984
  • Episodes: 6
  • Followers: 2
  • Ended
  • BBC Two
  • Friday at 21
  • Documentary Drama History Mini-series


You need to be logged in to mark episodes as watched. Log in or sign up.

Season 1
In the Name of the Gods
Episode overview
Air date
Sep 14, 1984
London, 1939. The 83-year-old Freud is resigned to die in exile, but determined that the moment will be of his own choosing. Analysing his life one last time, he recalls the early years .. show full overview
The Hypnotist
Episode overview
Air date
Sep 21, 1984
Paris, 1885. Charcot's sensational experiments with hysterical cases are the talk of the town and Freud is much impressed. But the Frenchman's belief that the root of hysteria lies, .. show full overview
The Secret of Dreams
Episode overview
Air date
Sep 28, 1984
Vienna 1891. Now set up in practice at 19 Berggasse, Freud is enthralled by the revelations of his patients which relate, invariably, to matters sexual - a theory of neurosis begins to .. show full overview
Episode overview
Air date
Oct 05, 1984
An intriguing new relationship develops when Minna Bernays, Freud's attractive sister-in-law, joins the family. Freud's recent 'child seduction' theory has outraged Vienna, leaving him, .. show full overview
Episode overview
Air date
Oct 12, 1984
Vienna 1907. Psychoanalysis as a movement is born. Freud's revolutionary theories appeal to a growing band of supporters - Adler, Stekel, Kahane, Federn, Rank, Ferenczi - who .. show full overview
1x6 Show finale
The World as Dream
Episode overview
Air date
Oct 19, 1984
London, 1939. Psychoanalysis flourishes in America and Freud's works are read worldwide: his international standing has far surpassed his father's simple plea that he make professor. But .. show full overview

If there are missing episodes or banners (and they exist on TheTVDB) you can request an automatic full show update:

Request show update


If you like this show, you may also enjoy: