The Bob Newhart Show

  • Score 8.2
  • Premiered: Sep 1972
  • Episodes: 142
  • Followers: 17
  • Rank #7137
  • Ended
  • CBS
  • Unknown


You need to be logged in to mark episodes as watched. Log in or sign up.

Season 6
Bob's Change of Life
Episode overview
Air date
Sep 24, 1977
Bob's well-ordered life turns topsy-turvy when he and Emily move to a new Chicago residence.
Ex-Con Job
Episode overview
Air date
Oct 01, 1977
Bob's attempt at treating convicts who are about to be released has him climbing the walls.
A Jackie Story
Episode overview
Air date
Oct 08, 1977
Jerry is terrified of losing his new dream girl.
Who Was That Masked Man?
Episode overview
Air date
Oct 15, 1977
Bob is puzzled when his henpecked patient, Mr. Petersen, asserts himself with far-reaching consequences.
Carlin's New Suit
Episode overview
Air date
Oct 22, 1977
Bob deals with the amusing problems of an improbable paternity suit and a phone paging service that never pages him.
A Day in the Life
Episode overview
Air date
Oct 29, 1977
Bob's impulsive decision to leave town for a week is received with disastrous emotions by his patients, who seemingly can't make it without him.
My Son the Comedian
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 12, 1977
It's no laughing matter for Howard when his 12 year old son Howie announces he's leaving home to become a comedian.
You're Fired, Mr. Chips
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 19, 1977
Bob interviews a variety of psychologists to take over his patients while he's out of town. It's soon apparent that they are very much in need of help themselves. When Bob's former .. show full overview
Shallow Throat
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 26, 1977
At first, Bob is thrilled when a nontalkative patient named Mr. Twillmer finally opens up after being told that anything he might say will be held in the strictest confidence. His joy is short-lived when Twillmer confesses to grand larceny.
A Girl in Her Twenties
Episode overview
Air date
Dec 03, 1977
Emily's protective instincts are aroused when 70-year-old Grace DuBois, an odd but friendly recluse, is threatened with being sent to a rest home for elderly people who can't cope with reality.
Grand Delusion
Episode overview
Air date
Dec 17, 1977
Bob and Emily celebrate their 10th wedding anniversary with a dream flight into the fantasy of being married to different partners.
'Twas the Pie Before Christmas
Episode overview
Air date
Dec 24, 1977
Bob finds himself with unhappy and hostile patients who refuse to attend his Christmas party when they are mistakenly informed of a rate increase at the height of the Yuletide season. One patient is moved to hire a pie-throwing service.
Freudian Ship
Episode overview
Air date
Jan 07, 1978
The Hartleys embark on a seagoing vacation to put work behind them. But Bob can't resist playing psychologist when he undertakes to counsel a married couple.
Grizzly Emily
Episode overview
Air date
Jan 14, 1978
Emily Hartley discovers a new low in male chauvinism when Bob's father arranges a fishing trip to his cabin and assigns her woman's work while the men brave the great out-of-doors.
Son of an Ex-Con Job
Episode overview
Air date
Jan 21, 1978
Bob counsels a quintet of jovial ex-convicts to help them find honest employment.
Group on a Hot Tin Roof
Episode overview
Air date
Jan 28, 1978
Bob advises a patient named Mr. Plager to realize his human potential by writing a play based on his own experiences. But when Plager writes, directs, and produces an actual World War I .. show full overview
Emily Carlin, Emily Carlin
Episode overview
Air date
Feb 04, 1978
Bob's paranoid, perennial patient, Mr. Carlin, involves Emily in his scheme to impress his former schoolmates—especially a girl who never gave him the time of day.
Easy for You to Say
Episode overview
Air date
Feb 11, 1978
Paul Billingham—known to his radio fans as Ralph Alfalfa, the Happy Farmer—comes to Bob because of his stuttering problem. On radio, he practiced several unseen rhythmic devices to mask .. show full overview
It Didn't Happen One Night
Episode overview
Air date
Feb 18, 1978
Bob's friends close ranks to "protect" Emily Hartley when a handsome old flame pays her a very warm visit.
Carol Ankles for Indie-Prod
Episode overview
Air date
Mar 04, 1978
On the eve of being announced "Secretary of the Year," Carol informs Bob that she's leaving his employ.
Crisis in Education
Episode overview
Air date
Mar 11, 1978
At the school where Emily works, low reading scores prompt indignant outbursts and threats from angry parents. Principal Phil Bannister flees their wrath by going on an extended fishing trip—but not before he tells Emily to handle the crisis.
6x22 Show finale
Happy Trails to You
Episode overview
Air date
Apr 01, 1978
Bob gives up his psychological practice in Chicago to become a professor at a small college in Oregon.

If there are missing episodes or banners (and they exist on TheTVDB) you can request an automatic full show update:

Request show update

If you like this show, you may also enjoy: