Brideshead Revisited

  • Premiered: Oct 1981
  • Episodes: 11
  • Followers: 23
  • Ended
  • ITV1
  • Monday
  • Drama History Mini-series Romance


You need to be logged in to mark episodes as watched. Log in or sign up.

Season 1
Et in Arcadia Ego
Episode overview
Air date
Oct 12, 1981
1944: in the fifth year of the Second World War, a thoughtful middle-aged British Army officer, Captain Charles Ryder, finds himself posted unexpectedly to Brideshead Castle. Ryder has .. show full overview
Home and Abroad
Episode overview
Air date
Oct 20, 1981
While Sebastian recovers from a broken foot, he and Charles enjoy a long summer vacation on their own (apart from the servants) at Brideshead, drinking a lot of good wine. Then other .. show full overview
The Bleak Light of Day
Episode overview
Air date
Oct 27, 1981
Charles gets closer to Sebastian's family, with the result that he and Sebastian begin to grow apart. Then one night they get drunk, go for a drive with some girls, and Sebastian is .. show full overview
Sebastian Against the World
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 03, 1981
Sebastian's alcoholism, depression and misbehaviour become more and more of a problem. He is sent down (expelled) from Oxford and after an unhappy Easter at Brideshead goes abroad with a .. show full overview
A Blow upon a Bruise
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 10, 1981
Charles comes home from Paris to spend New Year 1925 at Brideshead, but Sebastian behaves disgracefully. The Marchmains are trying to stop Sebastian from drinking by keeping him penniless, and Charles incurs their anger by giving him money.
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 17, 1981
Rex Mottram is determined to marry Julia, a prospect which appals Lady Marchmain, who is fatally ill. She reluctantly agrees to a secret engagement. Then Brideshead makes his own .. show full overview
The Unseen Hook
Episode overview
Air date
Nov 24, 1981
With Lady Marchmain very near to death, Charles searches French Morocco for Sebastian. He finds him, and is shocked by what he finds.
Brideshead Deserted
Episode overview
Air date
Dec 01, 1981
Bridey is planning to demolish Marchmain House, the family's London residence, and commissions Charles to paint some last pictures of its interior before the old place comes down. Meanwhile, Charles's marriage is collapsing.
Orphans of the Storm
Episode overview
Air date
Dec 08, 1981
Charles and Julia meet on a transatlantic liner and begin an affair. Rex Mottram and Charles's wife conspire against them.
A Twitch upon the Thread
Episode overview
Air date
Dec 15, 1981
Bridey rebukes Julia for her affair with Charles, and Cordelia brings news of Sebastian living a dismal life in a remote monastery in North Africa.
1x11 Show finale
Brideshead Revisited
Episode overview
Air date
Dec 22, 1981
Lord Marchmain, fatally ill, returns to England and prepares to die at Brideshead. Charles and Julia plan to marry and hope Brideshead will be theirs - but Julia's faith and sense of mortal sin are troubling her.

If there are missing episodes or banners (and they exist on TheTVDB) you can request an automatic full show update:

Request show update


If you like this show, you may also enjoy: