Bleak House

  • Premiered: Apr 1985
  • Episodes: 8
  • Followers: 4
  • Ended
  • BBC Two
  • Wednesday at 21
  • Crime Drama Mini-series


You need to be logged in to mark episodes as watched. Log in or sign up.

Season 1
Episode 1
Episode overview
Air date
Apr 10, 1985
Young Esther Summerson, brought up as an orphan, is summoned to London by her guardian's solicitors. She is to meet the Wards of Court in Jarndyce and Jarndyce court case over a will, .. show full overview
Episode 2
Episode overview
Air date
Apr 17, 1985
Esther is entrusted with the running of Bleak House.
Episode 3
Episode overview
Air date
Apr 24, 1985
Lady Dedlock ceases the case, Esther refuses an offer of marriage and Miss Flite collapses after a court hearing.
Episode 4
Episode overview
Air date
May 01, 1985
Lady Dedlock persuades Jo, a young crossing sweeper, to show her the haunts of the late Captain Hawdon. Richard's intended engagement to Ada perturbs Jarndyce, who considers it hasty, and they argue.
Episode 5
Episode overview
Air date
May 08, 1985
Smallweed presses George for documents in Captain Hawdon's handwriting, while Jo is questioned about the 'Lady' Tulkinghorn showed around London.
Episode 6
Episode overview
Air date
May 15, 1985
Esther becomes ill with smallpox, while Smallweed inherits Krook's property.
Episode 7
Episode overview
Air date
May 22, 1985
Esther, severely scarred, has recovered from smallpox. She meets Lady Dedlock, who confesses that she is her mother. Jo has been found desperately ill and living rough, but dies soon .. show full overview
1x8 Show finale
Episode 8
Episode overview
Air date
May 29, 1985
Richard, now married to Ada, continues the legal cause of Jarndyce.

If there are missing episodes or banners (and they exist on TheTVDB) you can request an automatic full show update:

Request show update