The Staircase

  • Score 6.0
  • Premiered: Jan 2005
  • Episodes: 14
  • Followers: 150
  • Rank #1969
  • Ended
  • Netflix
  • Monday at 10


You need to be logged in to mark episodes as watched. Log in or sign up.

Season 1 Discuss
Chapter 1: Crime or Accident?
Air date
Jan 16, 2005
Michael Peterson recalls the night of December 9, 2001, which began with dinner, wine and a rented movie, and ended with his wife Kathleen’s death. After Peterson is charged with .. show full overview
Chapter 2: Secrets and Lies
Air date
Jan 17, 2005
Shocking revelations about Michael Peterson’s private life pose new issues for his defense team, as it becomes clear that the prosecution will use these details to torpedo .. show full overview
Chapter 3: A Striking Coincidence
Air date
Jan 18, 2005
In the spring of 2002, the case takes another surprising turn when prosecutors turn their attention to the 1985 death of Elizabeth Ratliff, a military widow who was found dead at the .. show full overview
Chapter 4: A Prosecution Trickery
Air date
Jan 19, 2005
The defense team is forced to contend with the prosecution’s latest bombshell concerning the death of Elizabeth Ratliff. In April 2003, there is a pre-trail hearing regarding evidence, .. show full overview
Chapter 5: A Weak Case
Air date
Jan 20, 2005
District Attorney Jim Hardin lays out the prosecution’s case and calls witnesses to testify about three points of evidence: the amount of blood at the scene; Kathleen’s head lacerations; .. show full overview
Chapter 6: The Prosecution's Revenge
Air date
Jan 21, 2005
The court rules on key evidentiary issues, and the prosecution calls several witnesses who give emotionally charged testimony. Meanwhile, the trial is receiving extensive and often sensational coverage in the media.
Chapter 7: The Blowpoke Returns
Air date
Jan 22, 2005
The defense begins presenting its case, which relies heavily upon such experts as a biomechanical engineer and a prominent forensic scientist. But the outcome may finally come down to a stunning find by Michael Peterson’s oldest son.
Chapter 8: The Verdict
Air date
Jan 23, 2005
The long trial reaches its conclusion and Michael Peterson learns his fate—at least, for the immediate future.
Chapter 9: Reopening the Case
Air date
Mar 04, 2013
Eight years later, the possibility that a key witness for the prosecution may have misled the jury could prompt the need for a new trial.
The Last Chance
Air date
Mar 11, 2013
Explosive developments - implicating both the forensics laboratory of the police department of North Carolina, and Duane Deaver, its chief - recently saw the convicted subject of 'The .. show full overview
Chapter 10: The Last Chance
Air date
Mar 11, 2013
After more experts testify about the questionable conclusions and claims of Duane Deaver, the judge rules on whether a new trial is necessary.
Chapter 11: Looking for Closure
Air date
Jun 08, 2018
Following two and a half years of house arrest, Michael must decide whether to push for a plea or risk his freedom with a new trial.
Chapter 12: Between Anger and Despair
Air date
Jun 08, 2018
Their faith in the justice system forever shaken, Michael and his family discuss what they can hope to achieve by continuing the fight.
1x13 Show finale
Chapter 13: Flawed Justice
Air date
Jun 08, 2018
Michael speaks to a reporter about the reasons behind his plea. Later, Kathleen's sister delivers a statement of defiance in court.

If there are missing episodes or banners (and they exist on TheTVDB) you can request an automatic full show update:

Request show update

If you like this show, you may also enjoy: